Message Image  

You are here: Home / ABOUT / Awards for Excellence

Horace Mann/IPA Awards For Excellence

Excellence deserves recognition! The Horace Mann/IPA Awards for Excellence program does just that by recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of school leaders so they receive the acclaim they deserve. Superintendents, school boards, community members, teachers and colleagues are encouraged to nominate their deserving leader for any or all of the available awards. Nominations are to be submitted to the appropriate IPA Region Director by the specified deadline so a Region winner may be selected and moved on to the statewide competition. State winners are selected by an Awards Committee made up of past IPA presidents. State winners are recognized annually at awards ceremonies held in conjunction with the Principals Professional Conference held in October and the Assistant Principals Conference held in February.  Thank you in advance for taking the time to recognize those deserving individuals who work daily to do what is best for those they serve.

Awards Rubric Information (PDF)

Start here to nominate someone today!


Herman Graves Award

Troy Hickey, Retired Principal
Robinson High School

Troy Hickey

Elementary Principal
of the Year

Dr. Michelle Willis, Principal
Gillespie Elementary School 

Michelle Willis

Middle School Principal
of the Year

Crystal England, Principal
Henry W. Cowherd Middle School

Crystal England

High School Principal
of the Year

Jack Baldermann, Principal
Westmont High School

Jack Baldermann

Assistant Principal
of the Year

Tim Chipman, Assistant Principal
Jacksonville High School

Tim Chipman

Reaching Out and Building Bridges

Robert McBride Jr., Principal
Neuqua Valley High School

IdaLynn Wenhold, Executive Director
Kids Matter

John Ourth & Fred Singleton Professional Development Scholarship

Reid Shipley, Principal
Centralia High School

Ben Lee, Principal
Olympia North Elementary School




Horace Mann is the proud sponsor of the Illinois Principals Association Awards for Excellence Program.  Horace Mann - the largest national multi-line insurance company focusing on educators' financial needs - provides auto and homeowners insurance, retirement annuities, life insurance and other financial solutions.  "Founded by Educators for Educators" in 1945, the company is headquartered in Springfield, IL.  Visit for more information.

One moment, processing...